The house was way before its time with an underground water sprinkling system, and one of the first combination gas machines ever installed, which lighted the home. It sets on two acres that overlook the Black River. The Lumber Baron Inn also has an original Carriage House (Which is now being refurbished).
Come and enjoy a stay
Welcome to The Lumber Baron Inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The house was built in 1888. We have completely renovated and restored it to its natural beauty. We are so proud to have retained all of the original woodwork, lights, stained glass and the original wrought iron fence that goes all along the front of the house.
Step back in history where the man that brought the first lumber mill to Onalaska built his wifes dream home.